Home » News » Nashville Songwriter Sav Buist Wins USA Songwriting Competition

Nashville songwriter Sav Buist won the Overall Grand Prize as well as the first prize of the Folk category of the 27th Annual USA Songwriting Competition with her song “The Line”, Sav is part of a Folk group “The Accidentals”.

“I am truly honored that The Line won the USA Songwriting Grand Prize. Ironically, I wrote The Line at a low point, when I was having a hard time finding the words. It’s a culmination of all the unwanted voices in my head. Winning this contest is validation that good things can come from hard things and that tomorrow can be better than today. So thankful that this song resonated with the judges of the USA Songwriter Competition this year.  I hope it resonates similarly with anyone who needs a nudge to keep moving.“, said Sav Buist.

Sav has been described by NPR as “one of the most compelling songwriters of our day.” Sav Buist is not just one third of the indie folk rock trio, The Accidentals – she’s a singer-songwriter, recording engineer, and multi-instrumentalist hailing from Nashville TN by way of Traverse City MI. She’s one the 2021 Kerrville New Folk Winners,  2022 Songwriter Serenade winner, and her song, Wildfire co-written with her bandmate, Katie Larson and Kim Richey, was the #1 song of the year at Folk Radio in 2021.  Along with playing violin, mandolin, guitar, bass, banjo, Sav describes herself as a self-employed – professional problem solver, hot sauce fanatic, lock picker, tetris trailer packer, bookworm, archer, key lime pie baker, and cat parent in her spare time.

The Overall Second Prize went to Kevin Stroud & Marc Alan Barnette of Wichita Falls, TX with their song “Dance in Heaven”.

The Overall Third Prize went to Matty Gottesman; Los Angeles, CA with his song “Sleepless Summer”.


USA Songwriting Competition has a long history of having winners getting recording and publishing contracts, have their songs placed on the charts as well as having their songs placed on film and television.



USA Songwriting Competition winner from 2017, Wouter Kellerman has earned himself a nomination at the upcoming Grammy Awards, taking place on February 5th. From South Africa and now living in Australia, Wouter won the First Prize of the 2017 USA Songwriting Competition in the instrumental category with his song “Soweto Travels”.


2020’s top winner Andrew Jannakos was signed to Sony Music Nashville/RCA Nashville records and hit #65 on the Billboard Hot 100 Charts. The 2019 and 2018 top winners had their winning songs receive radio airplay.

The 2017 top winner Pricilla Renae has her song recorded by Ariana Grande and that song hit #21 on the Billboard Hot 100 Charts last year, her songs have been recorded by other big name artists such as Rihanna, Mariah Carey, Fifth Harmony, Demi Lovato, Rihanna, Madonna, Selena Gomez and Chris Brown. Several of her songs have hit the Billboard Hot 100 Charts.

2013 winner American Authors were signed to Island Records, and hit #1 on the Billboard Charts and went Double Platinum.

USA Songwriting Competition is sponsored by: Michael Kelly Guitars, Samson, Hartke, PreSonus, New Music Weekly, Loggins Promotion, Airplay Access, Acoustic Guitar magazine, FL Studio, Discmakers, School of Rock, Singer Express, Music Gateway, Nembrini Audio, Songcraft, Klevgrand, Melda Production, Berklee College of Music and more.

In its landmark year, the 28th Annual USA Songwriting Competition is currently accepting entries. For more information, visit: https://www.songwriting.net/

Industry News

SpectraLayers 11 Lifts Unmixing and Spectral Repair to a New Level

SpectraLayers 11 Lifts Unmixing and Spectral Repair to a New Level

Avantone Pro proudly brings back iconic ‘white cone’ classic studio reference monitor in CLA-10 Active and CLA-10 Passive configurations

Avantone Pro proudly brings back iconic ‘white cone’ classic studio reference monitor in CLA-10 Active and CLA-10 Passive configurations